Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help w/ First Build - Mid-Range General-use PC (no gaming/video)

Last response: in Systems
May 9, 2010 12:32:21 AM

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: a few days

BUDGET RANGE: $700-800 total (after tax/ship/rebate). I have no actual budget, but it seems to me that I don't have to spend more to get a solid machine.

SYSTEM USAGE: Sadly, no gaming at first, but I'd like to at least be able to if I decide to in the future. Sometimes I rip DVDs, but that's rare. This is really more for general multi-tasking. That said, I'm a developer and I run my machines pretty hard sometimes during day-to-day usage. Maybe I want to be indexing the drive, virus-scanning, torrenting, using some shareware tool to find duplicate mp3's by CRC, run some beefy, inefficient java app and I have a couple of flash vids buried and running in my 60 open Firefox tabs.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers (will get later, although wouldn't mind rec's on a nice sub-$100 set with good bass). A friend is giving me a case w/650w power supply: Antec Performance One P180 Silver cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case I hear this case has no speaker, not sure he'll include that.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: NewEgg/Microcenter (I'm right next door) or maybe Fry's (I can get my wife to go after work, but that's less desirable)

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: US

OVERCLOCKING: Highly doubtful, although maybe if it's very simple and safe.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Doubtful I'll ever need 2 gpus.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Goal is to build a machine that will last me 2-3 yrs until I have to upgrade any of it. Would like to be able to stretch it for as long as possible past that point, though. So 6-7 yrs overall lifetime would be great. Basically, gaming or speed when doing heavy, optimized processing are consider bonus, not primary goals. How long can I push this machine til day-to-day usage slows down enough I have to move on?