8800GT [Clean&spitshine] newbie

AnOniM

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2007
Hey guys, :hello:

I tried searching for answers regarding my problems but opinions seem to be either biased or split between the 2 options so I decided to ask openly and hope that someone can help.

First of all, let me start by saying I'm a newb when it comes to cleaning GPUs (or any computer parts for that matter :p)..I made my PC almost 3 years ago from scratch. I was looking for a mid to high end gaming rig and I think I've achieved that.

Lately though I'm having problems with my GPU temperature. It idles in the 70 degree range (higher depending on the ambient temp of my room) and in-game it reached 95-100 even. That's mainly the reason I can't play any game that's taxing to the GPU.

I haven't cleaned my GPU ever since I bought it and installed it so as you can imagine it must have collected a fair amount of dust inside and also the thermal paste is prolly non-existent.. :D

I watched some vids and asked some friends about cleaning it and they said I should just pop the case of and get the dust out..as for the thermal paste, that I should get Arctic Silver 5. I did some checking and it appears that AS5 conducts small amounts of electricity, bad thing for some GPUs depending on the type.

So what I want to know is what type of thermal paste I should use (AS 5 or some ceramic one) and which is the best way to spread it (with a plastic bag tightly wrapped around your finger or using the pea method)?

Be gentle, I am indeed a newbie to all this and don't really want to destroy it so any advice really would be awesome. Thank you for taking the time to read my wall-o-text.

~Alex

P.S. - my card is a BFG Tech 8800GT 512mb OC1