Help with possible mem/board incompatbility GA-P55A-UD3 & Patriot

kghastie

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2010
- Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 (rev. 1) (BIOS v. F11)
- Patriot G Series ‘Sector 5’ Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
- Intel i7-860 2.8GHz

I am on the most up to date BIOS and all drivers that I know of are updated (not that that matters for MemTest).

So this is my first build, and as it turns out I've been having a lot of instability, and am now failing MemTest regularly. I already RMA'ed one of my 2GB sticks ("Stick B") and I'm still having issues. So that is 3 sticks that each fail in both slots 1 & 3, so it seems there is something else going on.

I've tried MemTest with the Optimized and Failsafe BIOS settings, and it went like this:

Optimized BIOS - Stick C in Slot 1 & Stick A in Slot 3: FAIL
Failsafe BIOS - Stick C in Slot 1 & Stick A in Slot 3: FAIL
Optimized BIOS - Stick C in Slot 1: FAIL
Failsafe BIOS - Stick C in Slot 1: PASS for 25+ hrs

Here are CPU-Z results for 3 of the 4 configs:

CPU-Z Failsafe - 1 stick
CPU-Z Optimized - 1 stick
CPU-Z Failsafe - 2 sticks

I should note that all I want is a stable machine that runs at spec (no interest in overclocking at this point in time).

When I put BOTH sticks in, a lot of the settings change. For example:

2 sticks vs 1 stick
Mem frequency: 1066MHz/1333MHz
CPU Freq: 1999 MHz/2800MHz
CPU Clock Drive: 700Mv/900Mv
System Memory Multiplier (SPD): 8.0/10.0 (well, it's set to auto but I think that's what it gets set to)

And while with 1 stick I had timings showing 9 9 9 24 (which is how the RAM is labeled), with 2 in I get this:
Channel A: 8 8 8 20 4 19 48 1
Channel B: 7 7 7 20 4 19 60 1

Is this an indication of an issue? I have no idea what the implications of this are. Am I supposed to change those to 9 9 9 24 etc...? Why would the BIOS opt not to do that then, and have less stable settings in Failsafe mode?