New build..asus m/board memOK led help

Status
Not open for further replies.

nickmate

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2011
Hi, I'm new to this site so go easy on me with really technical stuff. I bought a new computer and assembled it myself. Here are the specs:
-asus P8H67-V motherboard
-intel core i5 2500k
-Kingston KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
-sapphire radeon 5770 1G
I connected everything correctly to the board including the 24 pin and 8pin EATX12v. I turn on the pc and the tha fans of the case, CPU and gpu start going then the memOK button beeps and flashes red before shutting everything down. I tried pressing and holding it but it did nothing. I then took out one ram module and tried it in different bays but no success. I took out the gpu and tried...nothing. I tried without ram and nothing. I took it apart and tried again...nothing.! I exchanged the ram thinking the one I bought was faulty but still the same.!
I need help, this is my first build and worried I stuffed up. Is the m/board faulty.!??

Solution
Welcome to Tom's Forums! :)

Use the following slots:
CPU | A1 | A2 | B1 | B2 | ; use slots A2 & B2

Boot failure:
Clean the RAM & DIMM contacts with Isopropyl alcohol - moisten the RAM contacts, insert fully into the DIMM slots {see above}, remove & clean, re-moisten & reinsert. Remove and wipe-off RAM contacts, and allow to dry ~5 minutes.

Reinstall and verify that the RAM is properly seated in the DIMM slots and are 'clicked' in. Often poorly seated and/or production residue oils interfere with proper contact. {Don't baby the RAM seating}.
Welcome to Tom's Forums! :)

Use the following slots:
CPU | A1 | A2 | B1 | B2 | ; use slots A2 & B2

Boot failure:
Clean the RAM & DIMM contacts with Isopropyl alcohol - moisten the RAM contacts, insert fully into the DIMM slots {see above}, remove & clean, re-moisten & reinsert. Remove and wipe-off RAM contacts, and allow to dry ~5 minutes.