Solved

Flexible Budget $1100 Gaming Rig

Hi everyone! I'm a new entry into the PC gaming scene. I've done some research on my own and come up with a starting point; as I'm not all that experienced or knowledgeable, I'm quite open to suggestions, improvements, or revisions.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: June 2010 BUDGET RANGE: $1000-$1200

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT
: Gaming, Watching High Def Video

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I'm starting from scratch with the exception of the 42" 1080p Panasonic Plasma I currently use with my PS3. I'm hoping to use this for my monitor.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I've had some experience with newegg.com, but I am open to others.

PARTS PREFERENCES: I've no brand loyalties at this point, but here was what I was looking at:

ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard $230

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor $180

ASUS ENGTX470/2DI/1280MD5 GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card $350

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) $120

CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply $110

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive $90

ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner $25

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case $100

Total cost of current build: $1200

OVERCLOCKING: Open to it, and it would seem a shame not to.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE:Sure if it's more cost efficient than the one card.