Sign in with
Your question

Seeking opinions & advice on these two pc plans

Last response: in Systems
May 12, 2010 6:19:14 AM

Hey everyone so im new to pc building and will be building my 1st at some point in time. i'm here to get your opinions and advice on which of the two building plans i picked out will better suit my needs(can only go with one). One using Intel chipset the other Amd.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Maybe next month hopefully

BUDGET RANGE: Been trying to keep it around 2k or so

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, trying Blender, and media uses

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor going to be usng my 40" lcd tv and the os

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Been using Newegg

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

OVERCLOCKING: Yes

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Down the road maybe

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080

These parts are being used in both builds

Case: Silverstone FT02(have alot of great reviews and i want the case to last a long time)

Hdd: Samsung F3 500gb x2

Psu: Xfx black 850w

Cpu Cooler: Noctua NH-D14

Thermal Compound: MX-2

Drive: LG UH10LS20 Blu-ray Disc Combo(if anyone knows a better one for $100 tell tell)

Gpu: Galaxy's new 470(i picked this one over going 5850 mainly because of PhysX and CUDA)

These are for the Intel build

CPU: Core i7 930

MOTHERBORAD: ASUS P6X58D-E

RAM: G.SKILL 6gb Ripjaw DDR3

Heres the parts for the Amd build

CPU: Amd x6 1090T

MOTHERBOARD: MSI 890FXA-GD70

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I know that i cant go sli on the Amd board but isnt their workarounds for that, also does eveyone know the size of the fan on the Galaxy's 470 thinking maybe i could replace the fan with a better one

So what do you all think ?
May 12, 2010 7:01:39 AM

Welcome to the forum. I would not get a 470 with an AMD build. I have never heard of a "workaround" for this, and it probably wouldn't be the best idea anyways.

First, I understand your reasoning for the case, but imo that is altogether too much to pay for one.