Sign in with
Your question

What do these need to migrate systems to 64 bit?

Last response: in CPUs
July 19, 2010 12:50:19 AM

I work in a lab with a bunch of dual quad cores - T7400's - running on XP. They are 32 bit systems. All of our software is 32 bit. What do I need to do to utilize them as 64 bit? We are about to purchase Windows 7. If there is any way I can give them a boost, I'd like to do it. Is it mostly a matter of getting the 64 bit OS and negotiating for upgrades on our software (Driver, Adobe Suits, Autodesk products, ...) ? It may be we don't have enough memory.

More about : migrate systems bit

a c 141 à CPUs
July 19, 2010 1:02:51 AM

You need to check each specific piece of software and hardware for windows 7 and then 64bit support before you buy win7.
For instance I have several tuner cards that have drivers for 32 and 64 bit windows.. up to vista. Nothing exists for Win7 32 or 64 bit :( 
I had the same probem came up for my HP scanners when Vista came out...

Also Win 7 business license can downgrade to XP to postpone actually having to upgrade to win7 if thats something you are interested in. this lets you buy win7 license now and still run xp legally.
m
l
July 19, 2010 2:15:22 PM