Aftermarket cooler fitting on the P67a-UD4 that clears all DIMMS

Mangonaley

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2011
Hello TH,

This is my first time posting on TH but i always read the stuff on here and I think it's great.

Im recently gathering the parts for my new build and I have chosen to go with the gigabyte P67a-UD4 motherboard (not purchased yet). However, i have already purchased Corsair Vengeance RAM which is pretty tall.

So my question is,What aftermarket cpu coolers can I put on this board that leaves all the DIMM clear.

I was looking at the TT-FRIO but Dimensions of the cooler are vague because some have 2 fans or 1 fan measurements.

Thanks you

That RAM will severely limit your options....unfortunately manufacturers still put these things on their RAM modules despite the fact that they do little more than "look cool". Are they still within the vendor's return period as that would be your best option ?

Would suggest some plain ole Mushkin or Cosair . Really liking these new CAS 7's from Mushkin

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226178

Mangonaley

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2011
Thanks for the quick response.
The ram does look good and where i was, i couldn't get the mushkin red lines.

What if I was to hit it up with water cooling (the simpler way), with the corsair H50 or the H70? I've heard good reviews on the H70, but ive also googled the problems some ppl have about the tubes leaking? any ideas of how sturdy this thing is? It is fairly expensive but if it clears my ram, low profile, and quiet, cools adequately i might just get it.

I also had a look at the noctua C12p SE 14 i think thats what its called, its like a top down heat sink instead of the tower. What are ppls opinions on this? WIll it cool as well as a frio would when overclocking an i5 2500k? Or maybe not as much? but if its only a few degrees difference i wouldnt mind.

Btw, i wont be doing hardcore overclocks like 5ghz, probaly just hit 4.0 and a bit more and ill be happy.