Building a $1000-$1200 gaming/media work PC

Slayer697

Distinguished
May 13, 2010
APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Will purchase parts over the next couple weeks. Graphics card will be last as I've already got a temp card to use till then.

BUDGET RANGE: $800-$1000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Will be using it mostly to write articles for a website I contribute to, but would really like it to be able to hold its own in gaming. Might be used for video editing work in the future.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, DVD Drive, OS, case, power supply.

I have a Cooler Master HAF 922 for my case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119222&cm_re=cooler_master_haf_922-_-11-119-222-_-Product

and a Corsair CMPSU-650HX for the PSU. I can return the PSU if need be, but would like to keep it if I can.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139012&Tpk=corsair%20650hx
PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: http://www.tigerdirect.ca/, http://www.canadacomputers.com/

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Canada

PARTS PREFERENCES: Would prefer an ASUS mother board, but open to other suggestions. ATI really seems like the company to go for GPUs so I guess I have a preference there as well.

OVERCLOCKING: Probably

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: Maybe (a decision I'll base off the advice I get here)

MONITOR RESOLUTION: Not sure. Looking to get a 21+ inch Samsung Monitor eventually. (Most likely something with a high contrast ratio)

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Being quiet isn't a huge deal because I'll probably shut it down when I'm not using it, but it's a preference I'd like to mention here. If I can keep this system quiet I'd appreciate it. It's the main reason I chose the case I did. I'd like to keep the build open to upgrade, but am also very interested in balanced solutions that will last.

Any advice anyone can provide on what I should get would be greatly appreciated.

Solution
This board would work for an i5 build if you want crossfire potential