Help me build an inexpensive HTPC

Accurim

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2010
Will the cpu/mobo/onboard radeon 4200 I selected have enough power to be a HTPC? I've never built one before and not really sure how it works but this deal on newegg is getting me interested. I'd need a case, psu, and ddr2 ram that are inexpensive but im not srue what to get, please help

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP BUDGET RANGE: <$300 (Cheaper is better) Before Rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: HTPC stuff

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: Monitor, speakers, keyboard, mouse

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS:Newegg.ca
COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: Canada

PARTS PREFERENCES: Inexpensive and will work well

OVERCLOCKING: No SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: I guess HTPC need 1920x1080?

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: Inexpensive :D! Will the CPU/Mobo/Onboard Radeon 4200 have enough power for a HTPC?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Include a list of any parts you have already selected with descriptively labeled links for parts.

Combo CPU+Mobo ($69.98)
http://www.newegg.ca/Special/ShellShocker.aspx?nm_mc=AFC-C8junctionCA&cm_mmc=TEMC-Order-Invoice-CA-_-header-_-banner-_-ShellShocker&AID=10602595&PID=749547&SID=forums
CPU:
AMD Sempron 140 Sargas 2.7GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM3 45W Single-Core Processor
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103698
MOBO:
BIOSTAR A785GE AM2+/AM3 AMD 785G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138156

The Radeon 4200 is nearly perfect for an HTPC. The video side is powerful enough for smooth blu-ray playback. Its only downside is it is unable to bitstream the new HD audio found on blu-rays if that matters to you.

P.S. If you are getting a 785G (HD4200) based motherboard and you are building new, go for a DDR3 version instead of a DDR2 version.