Sign in with
Your question

Its been years, and looking to upgrade all

Last response: in Systems
May 15, 2010 11:36:43 AM

Been years since ive rebuilt (i have a MSI k8n neo4, 1G Geil Ram and 7800gt) and ive been looking to start anew. Dont play too many games, but i will be getting SC2, and might wanna try crysis. Plus im on my computer at least twice a day, wit being back to school, i want something more relevant. Motherboard and RAM is where im most stuck on

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: within this month or June

BUDGET RANGE: Keep it around $1000-1100 at most

PREFERRED WEBSITE FOR PARTS: NewEgg. I also have my job for discount (bestbuy)

PARTS PREFERENCES: No parts preferance but i want to SLI eventually, and i will prolly water cool again

OVERCLOCKING: this is tough. ive had little success overclocking. i mean, i would LIKE to, but im not good at it. if theres a mobo that could do it for me and remain stable, then perhaps. (When i did overclock, i would use the "program" or whatever u would like to call it, to do it for me but at higher clocks it would stay. I attributed this to the RAM i had i would assume.)

SLI: maybe to start, but eventually yes so think of this as Yes.

MONITOR RESOLUTION: to be modest, 1600x1200 as ive never been on anything 19' or higher, or even near that resolution. so there to start, but maybe 1920-1080 or so. A decent-good monitor than can play games at about 20-21" is what im looking for.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: I have a Windows 7ultimate disk ready to use. I like to watercool (silence is key). Again, limited overclocking, but if theres a mobo that has software that can do it, and stable as well, then its possible. Not to familiar wit SSD's, but open to input

Thanks alot as well for any advice

More about : years upgrade

May 15, 2010 11:55:23 AM