G

Hey,

I am about to do my first build next month, and I have some questions about certain parts. I want to build this computer to primarily handle programming & compiling, heavy multitasking, running some resource heavy programs like Matlab, and midrange gaming (i can live with medium performance).

I have a budget of $800 or under with EVERYTHING (ie. shipping & tax included). Another thing that I want to take into account is to build this computer to last. Two other considerations is power consumption (keep my electric bills low) and I want this system to last me at least 4 years without feeling like I'm running a dinosaur. I know it's hard to keep cost down while achieving these at the same time.

I've never done it before, but I would like to overclock the cpu if it's relatively easy to figure out.

So, here is what I have in mind so far:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition - $160

COOLER: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7 compatible RR-B10-212P-G1 120mm "heatpipe direct contact" Long life sleeve CPU Cooler - $27

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-770T-USB3 AM3 AMD 770 USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard - $80

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-4GBRL - $104

GPU: SAPPHIRE 100254HDMI Radeon HD 4650 1GB 128-bit DDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - $60

HDD: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive -$55

PSU: SeaSonic S12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - $70

CASE: Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - $60

MEDIA: ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM - $26

That comes out to a total of $642.

I have a few points I need advice on: