Asus P6x58d question

metaldav2005

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
I'm wondering if I have my mobo set up correctly. I have ASUS P6X58D mobo with a Seagate 1.5tb Barracuda Serial ATA HD 7200/32MB/SATA-3G 7200.11. The problem I seem to be having is I just installed Call of Duty 4 and it takes almost 30 mins to startup. That can't be right. I'm new to PC gaming but there's got to be something I don't have set right. I'm running a I7 960 stock with Patriot Viper DDR3 1600mHz 6GB kit. Other programs are taking a long time to start as well. Any help will be appreciated.

Alvin Smith

Distinguished
Swap SATA cables ... use a different colored SATA port, on the mobo (if so).

... There were (i heard rumor of) some firmware probs, with the 7200.11 series, at one time ...

... It takes just a few minutes to flash the latest drive firmware, from Seagate support.

... Also, right click the drive icon and disable indexing.

That is all really quick and easy stuff that might solve without any protracted methodology ... but if none of that solves ... the process will get more involved and ... well ... a bit more "sticky" ... cross your fingers and hope.

= all that make sense? =

metaldav2005

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
Hi Alvin,
Thanks for your time in answering my questions. I checked with Seagate and the model# and serial # on my drive needs no updates at this time so I'm good there. I swaped out the cable, moved the cable to sata1 port on the mobo. Check the BIOS and made sure my boot drive was my HD, disabled indexing. The only diffrent colored sata ports I have are the ATA 6.0 Gb/s ports. Still no change.

Alvin Smith

Distinguished
next would be to plant that HDD into another system and/or to place a "known-good" drive on that port and using that cable.

ALSO! ... Go ahead and hook it up to the SATA3 6GB/sec port ... should run fine there, too. ... enable in BIOS.

= Al =