Getting the most out of my SSD? What to install

starrywisdom

Honorable
Jun 16, 2012
This is my first time using an SSD and as such have a few questions. I'm using a hybrid setup(120GB SSD - 2TB HDD) and am installing Win7 to my SSD right now.

What I'm curious about is /what/ else I should install on the SSD - and what I shouldn't. I do two things every day - one is play some form of game(I play 3 mmo's weekly, a few shooters, and about 5 strategy games - with a lot of games I occasionally play) the other is I spend a lot of time browsing the internet(watching videos / reading large amounts of text / etc).

With that being said, my SSD is fairly small(at only 120GB). After installing Win7 I'm assuming I'll have 60~GB left for use. As a large gamer, I know I'm going to install one or two of my most frequent games(probably my mmo's) after that I don't know what's 'best' to utilize with the SSD. Will things such as firefox provide any benefit(other then loading a bit quicker on startup)? What about winamp/itunes? Steam(but game storage on the HDD).

I went through the stickies and was surprised that there wasn't really any lists on what gets the best benefit of an SSD - so any help would be greatly appreciated :)

A fresh Windows 7 install with all of the Service Packs and updates is only 19-20GB.
Your SSD is 120GB unformatted; formatted it will be 111.6GB. So after your Windows install you're looking at around 91GB of free space.

Keep your browsers on your SSD. Also, like you said, keep 1 or 2 of your most frequent games on it as well.
Install Winamp & iTunes on your SSD, but keep your music files on your HDD.

anomalyzer

Honorable
Jul 1, 2012

All: