Sign in with
Your question

Difference Between MSI Packages And Ghost Images

Last response: in Networking
February 25, 2010 5:26:16 PM

Hi there everyone, im a trainee network administrator.

Am wondering if you guys could help me on understanding the difference between MSI packages and ghost images

which one is better when adding software to computers on a network

a simple explanation of how they work and how they are different would be great

many thanks

scott.
Anonymous
February 25, 2010 9:37:54 PM

Why would even think one would have anything to do with the other? MSI is Microsoft Installer (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Installer) and Ghost Images are backups of hard drivers made using Symantec or Norton Ghost program.
February 26, 2010 7:23:13 AM

They do have something to do with eachother as they are both ways of adding software to computers on a server network environment. ive read the wikipedia link but it doesnt explain the differences of both.

And symantec is made by norton ghost my friend :) 
Related resources
Anonymous
February 26, 2010 10:05:39 AM

No, MSI is a way of installing software in Windows. Ghost is for reimaging computers. FYI, there is a Symantec version of Ghost and a Norton version. I've used both versions. And Symantec owns Norton, not the other way around.
February 26, 2010 1:15:15 PM

scott-bevan said:
Hi there everyone, im a trainee network administrator.

Am wondering if you guys could help me on understanding the difference between MSI packages and ghost images

which one is better when adding software to computers on a network

a simple explanation of how they work and how they are different would be great

many thanks

scott.