PERFECT COMPUTER FOR ARCHITECTURE

taylorsealy

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2010
Hello, I dont know much about computers. i understand most of the basic concepts and what not but im not way into it. I am studying architecture and i have a nice laptop for school, but i want to get a good desktop for home to run my program on. I was looking at pugetsystems.com for a custom computor but i have no idea what i need and i only want to spend around 3000 at the most.

Solution

Well with that,

I would recommend a system with

CPU: Phenom II x6 1055t or core i7 930 (or better)

4 or 8 GB of ddr3 1333 MHz ram (or if with the core i7's 9xx: 6 to 12 GB of ddr3 ram)

500GB hard drive

GPU: a Radeon 5750 or better.

Power supply: 500W or grater power supply. (if you go for a better graphic card, you might want to get an even higher wattage power supply.)

Windows 7 Home Premium.

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/AMD_Hex_Core_Configurator/

this should only place you around $1k to $1.5k.

Example: This would only cost $1,052
Case: CyberPower CX-9959 Lan Party Case w/...
$3k? Well with that, you could build just about anything you want for a desktop.

Although depending on the program you're using you could pay for a good performing computer for around $1k to $2k.

But right now, What program are you using? that will help us guide you in the right direction.

Just in case if you ever want to build you're own computer, We got several guides that can help you along the way from chosing parts you need all the way to trouble shooting for majority of the problems that you could encounter.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/288241-31-read-posting-buyer-guides-troubleshooting

it can be fun, can be cheaper to do than buying a custom build, and you'll gain experience.

ares1214

Splendid