PLS help newly built PC keeps crashing

bform

Distinguished
May 18, 2010
hey everyone, just built a new PC and it crashes at certain points when gaming.
SPECS:
-i7 930 intel bloomfield
-CM Hyper 212 Plus
-x58A-ud3R gigabyte
-6 gig G-skill F312800CL8T
-Corsair 850wTX
-xfx ATI 5870
-1 Tb Samsung F3
-Windows 7 Home 64bit; Avg (free ed.), ZoneAlarm (free ed.)

First two weeks and it was fine with Crysis and starcraft beta. I tested with Prime95, memtest86, 3D mark. my CPU temp maxes at 61C at 100% load using core temp. Mem86 and Prime95 passed for 4 hrs and 3.5 hrs respectively.
I started playing Empire: Total War, and during loading time before a specific siege battle the system crashes completely. I retried multiple times and it went through ok maybe 1/10 times (sometimes it wont get passed Steam). I tried Crysis and it crashes at random tries during loading.
Theres a high pitch stuttering noise around the mobo/pcu area, that seems to correlate with the processor stressing. Although, i read from other x58A-ud3R owners that some batches have this problem, yet it works properly. Oddly enough the noise is non-existent when I'm running Prime95 or even 3dmark. Maybe its a faulty mobo.
I'm also going to check if its a faulty power source or psu. I'm using a Cyberpower surge protector. I'm going to try plugging it at different outlets to see if anything changes. Thanks in advance for any info/help.

That's your most likely problem right there. The RAM takes 1.6V, and I'll bet you $100 your motherboard is on "auto" and supplying it 1.5V, which is the default for DDR3 motherboards. Go into the BIOS and set the RAM voltage to 1.6 and you should be fine.

RAM issues, and in particular voltage problems, have got to be THE #1 cause of random freezing. And most of the time, the components themselves will all check out fine, since there's nothing technically "wrong" with them. It's a problem that will make you pull your hair out the first time it happens.

bform

Distinguished