Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Rookie Questions - Opinions Wanted

Last response: in CPUs
July 23, 2010 5:20:24 PM

Every 2 years or so I try my best to build a computer and although I am not computer expert (I am software developer so I know some about computers but I confess that in the realm of hardware I am no expert) this has usually been a pretty easy thing to do. But I feel like a lot has changed in the last two years and most of the differences seem a bit esoteric to me so I thought I would ask the experts (forums).

I am trying to build a computer for heavy photo-editing/video and occasional gaming (eg, I plan on getting Crysis 2, but I don't care if I can't play it absolutely maxed out). I want to be able to run a lot of heavy apps/process at once so...this really does need to be a pretty powerful beast but I am trying to fit into a < $3500 budget so any input on - what is waste vs what is relevant - is greatly appreciated.

1) Chipset.
I am going with Intel (i7 960) but I was wondering about the practical/actual differences between P55 and x58 chipsets. I tried reading through Intel's docs but it was either over my head or felt like marketing fluff. The only difference I can tell is that they're on different sockets (with more than 1366 having a higher bus than 1156) which I THINK is this only relevant for "extreme" chips? Did I get that wrong? Are there any other differences that would be helpful to know?

Sub chipset question, am I crazy to think that the whole Xenon/EEC thing is a little overrated? It just seems like i7 is so much more bang for your buck - even for video editing?

2) SLI and CUDA