Sign in with
Your question

Dead NVIDIA GeForce GT120 Video Card on Gateway LX6810 Computer - Replacement Op

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 18, 2010 3:29:05 AM

Hello,

I'm a complete and utter novice to computers, so I'm here for the advice of the more knowledgeable.

I bought the infamous Gateway LX6810 computer from Best Buy a bit over a year ago (major design flaw in regards to air-flow/cooling, and the graphics card died on me. It's this:

NVIDIA GeForce GT120

... as it turns out, they don't produce those anymore! Nuts. I need a video card that gives more or less the same performance, and like anyone I would prefer to not spend an exorbitant amount of cash on it.

Can I find anything comparable for $100 or less?

I prefer to buy from Newegg.com, can someone please post links from Newegg.com that have the appropriate video cards (that are compatible with my Gateway LX6810 computer)?

I would still be open to links from other online retailers as well.

Thanks in advance!
April 18, 2010 3:39:08 AM

rolli59, thanks for the quick reply, I appreciate it.

I just noticed that a lot of those video cards are 512MB - what about 1GB video cards? How much of a difference does it make, really? I do play some games, but I'm not a hardcore gamer. I would be more concerned about having good screen quality while watching movies or doing work with image editing (Adobe software).

Another thing: which brand do you recommend? There are so many to choose from. Any you can vouch for?

Again, I'm much obliged!

- jy90274
m
l
Related resources
April 18, 2010 3:57:41 AM

Awesome! Nice rebate, too. I'll just wait for a few more opinions over the next 24 hours, then make my decision. Thank you, sir.
m
l
April 18, 2010 6:51:04 AM

I'm not sure about that one, because one of the reviews on that page talks about the video card running hot.