Sign in with
Your question

Photoshop CS5 Questions - Upgrade possible?

Last response: in Systems
May 19, 2010 9:26:33 PM

My current system is:
INTEL CORE 2 DUO E8400
ASUS P5N-MX DDR2-800 SATA2 PCIe 1333FSB
4gigs of RAM
NVIDIA GEFORCE 7100 256MB VIDEO CARD
Windows XP 32bit

I am a serious amateur photographer and will be primarily using Photoshop. Essentially no games, and some light home movie editing (standard definition, OK to wait for rendering). I've actually be pleased with my system for my work, until upgrading to CS5. I work with large, multiple stiched images for personal use, which end up being several hundred megabytes in size. CS5 is amazing, but some of the new features, content-aware delete, refine edge mask, continually give me the error of "not enough RAM to complete". A longwinded explaination of my uses and problem.

I've read through every thread I could find talking about new system builds for photoshop, but here is my specific question. Is there anything that I can do, short of spending around $1,000 (what most other posters are spending), to get a system that will work for me. I have plenty of hard drives, a nice monitor. I can upgrade to Windows 7 (work can provide license for home use). I have never built my own system before, but have tinkered with enough of the components, that I think it's within my abilities. If I need to buy a new system, I would probably want to spend enough to have it last for the next 3 years, as spending $600 for something for a year doesn't make much sense.

Any thoughts would be very appreciated!
a b B Homebuilt system
May 19, 2010 9:32:57 PM

You can build a PC for ~$800-900 than will handle CS5 quite well.

OR:
You can get Win 7 + may be another set of RAM (total of 8GB) a Quad Core and a 9xxx (ie 9600GT, ~$60-80) graphics card.

Download the CS5 trial and see how that runs and tell us the results.
m
l
May 19, 2010 9:38:31 PM