M4a79xtd evo Motherboard Problem?

vdutatx

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2011
Hi I have a strange persistent problem with my recent build. This is my first build and have not gotten the whole thing to work properly. I have done numerous troubleshooting methods but have not been able to stamp out the last of the problems.

The weird thing is that I can run games all day and not a single problem, but it would crash in web browsers and iTunes every time after a short period of running them. I have tried 3 different browsers (IE, Chrome, Firefox) with no success. I reformatted, updated BIOS and reinstalled graphics drivers, chipset drivers etc. I have run memtest86 with numerous passes no errors, tried to do 3dmark06 but would crash during CPU test.. changed the slots of my GPU to the x8 slot from the x16 slot and seemed to run better and passed the CPU test. It also crashes significantly less in browsers after the GPU slot change, I haven't even tried to reinstall iTunes. I have not tried putting it back in the x16 slot but don't see why I would go back. It seems to crash when videos are being streamed, ESPECIALLY when they are embedded or when multiple tabs are up. When it does crash it simply freezes up with strange artifacts and no BSOD. They are like black and white dots scattered about, one pixel each. I have tried under clocking my GPU to no avail and my system temps are nice and cool.