First Time Build - Gaming spec review appreciated

kevylei

Distinguished
May 20, 2010
Hi, I've used 2 Dell systems for the past 12 years and I decided to customize a new computer partly out of fun of it. But since this is my first time doing this, I am hoping for some professional review on the specs I chose...currently, it's a bit pricey and I'm looking to cut down a bit but don't know where to shave from. I also don't know if it is balanced.

Before I show the specs, this is what I plan on using the computer for:
1. StarcraftII and WoW. (not too resource consuming games)
2. Basic school work + web searching.
3. Watching TV and movies from my computer.
4. Looking to future-proof it for 2-3 years.
5. Currently do not know how to overclock and if I do, it will be very very very minor.
6. Looking for a balanced computer.

1. Case AZZA Fantom 900 Mid Tower Gaming Case (Do I need a full size? I like quiet towers)

2. Processor AMD Phenom™ II X6 1090T Black Edition Six-Core CPU- (I've debated between this and i7-920: AMD does not support triple memory channels but does have six cores. Intel has triple memory channels but is only 4 cores, for the price range I want. SCII and WoW are only 2 core games. I leaned towards AMD because it was cheaper, allowing me to get other better parts).

3. Processor Cooling Asetek 550LC Liquid CPU Cooling System w/ 120mm Radiator (AMD) (Do I need it? I want max or near max settings in game)

4. Memory 8 GB [2 GB X4] DDR3-1333 Memory Module-Corsair XMS3 Dominator w/DHX technology (At what memory frequency will I start losing performance vs. cost? Also, should dual and triple channel influence my decision on CPU choice?)

5. Video Card ATI Radeon HD 5870 - 1GB-Single Card (One for now but I want to have the option to crossfire in the future)