Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How to switch my SSD to my secondary drive without installing windows.

Last response: in Storage
July 7, 2012 6:35:15 AM

Hey guys i'm pretty new to the computer world, i recently just built a gaming PC and need help trouble shooting. When i installed windows i unplugged my 1TB SATA HDD and only keep my 64 GIG SSD installed so i could make sure Windows and all my drivers where on my SSD. I didn't think about it until now, and realized that my primary drive is going to be this tiny 64 GIG drive, and i'm going to have to manually choose where to save everything.
So to get to the point, is there anyway i can change my HDD to my primary without having to reinstall windows, and still be able to boot off my SSD. Please help if you have the knowledge i'm not to computer savvy yet, but trying to learn.
July 7, 2012 7:00:20 AM

Sorry title should have read without RE-INSTALLING windows not installing it.
m
l
July 7, 2012 7:11:26 AM

No, your gonna have to re-install windows onto the other HDD. I always tell people and even my self. Buy the right capacity SSD for your need
m
l
Related resources
a b G Storage
July 7, 2012 7:12:26 AM

I've been running my rig on 64gig SSD for 7 months without any real hassle.. Still got 16 Gig spare, it's no real problem to save everything to your HDD, just use the 'save as' option for all downloads. Install only Windows and your favourite games on the SSD and check this for other good housekeeping tricks
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/270102-14-useful-ar...
m
l
July 7, 2012 7:15:35 AM

OK if i install windows on my hard-drive will i still be able to boot off of my SSD?
m
l
July 7, 2012 7:18:40 AM

dodger46 said: