Won an i7 975, cheap build possible? under 1000?

thisjustanother

Distinguished
May 22, 2010
i recently won an i7 975 at an electronics store giveaway and am excited to see what i can do with this. im not a complete newb when it comes to technology, but i also dont follow every single tech to the tee. first off id like to say i would really like to keep the i7 975 and use it and not sell it and buy lower, because why give away what has been won to use, and downgrade to less.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: i dont have any set date.

BUDGET RANGE: i would really really hope for it to be below 1000

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, i enjoy using headphones so i hope i can just plug it into the ports directly without having to buy a sound card.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: USA

PARTS PREFERENCES: since its intel i7 975 it will have to be intel

OVERCLOCKING: No and SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1280x1024

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: i can wait a couple of months like the end of july as im in no hurry or rush to put a computer together. yes i know the resolution of the monitor is crap low but since i already have a monitor that works great why spend more when it can be saved for other items.

First of all, congrats! :D

I'm supposing you have a budget of $1000 for everything apart from the peripherals and monitor.

I like how you think. :)

Anyway:

GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R - $209.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128423

G.SKILL PI Series 6GB 3x2GB DDR3 1600MHz CL7 - $174.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231335

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5850 Toxic 1GB GDDR5 - $349.99, $7.87 shipping
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102881

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200RPM - $89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152185

Corsair TX650W 650W PSU - $89.99, $20 rebate available