Sign in with
Your question

Wireless/Wired Network Help

Last response: in Wireless Networking
September 12, 2004 1:08:02 PM

Hi all,

I'm looking for some advice on expanding my current wired network to include a wireless solution. I'm a complete novice as far as wireless is concerned and am confused as to what I require to get my network connected.

I currently have 2 computers (XP & FreeBSD) and a HP Laserjet 4 Plus connected to a Linksys BEFSR41 wired router which connects to Broadband Internet via a Motorola SB3100 modem. This is situated upstairs in the 'office'. I am adding another computer downstairs to feed to the TV and would also like to share my existing network resources. I intend to move the Internet connection downstairs too thus eliminating the length of coax travelling around my house.

What should I buy? I've read a few sites and guides but am getting a little confused by all the different devices available.

My initial thoughts are to purchase a wireless router for downstairs connecting the computer via wire since it will be a few feet away. Upstairs to have a Wireless Access Point connected to my existing wired router. This should negate the need to reconfigure the existing network which is setup with static IPs.

Is this correct or are there better solutions? Also, what equipment do you recommend. I was thinking along the lines of the Linksys WRT54G-UK and WAP54G-UK. They are fairly cheap and seem quite popular.

Your advice greatly appreciated.

Mike

More about : wireless wired network

September 12, 2004 4:53:23 PM

If you want to accomplish everything you want to do for a reasonable price I would get a WRT54G and a WAP54G and bridge them.
Comp1\
........BEFSR41-WAP54G (wireless bridge) WRT54G-Comp3
Comp2/

Before you hook up the WRT54G make sure DHCP is disabled on your BEFSR41. Other router services like DNS shouldn't effect anything if they are still running. Disabling those also won't hurt anything though.