Question on buying recalled Sandy Bridge MoBo

gogamer2007

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2007
I have been using a (now ancient) p4 gaming computer for 6 years and have waited way too long to build a new one. Anyways I have been planning since last year on building one when sandy bridge comes and have been saving eversince too this day, and now have my $2,000 to custom build my new gaming computer. Only problem is.... I found out Sandy Bridge MoBo's are recalled (no Sandy Bridge MoBo = no Sandy Bridge CPU) and they won't be available till April. I read were the problem is the SATA II ports or 3.0GBs. Anyways I won't be using those as I plan on getting one SATA III 6.0 GBs hard drive (may add another one later and RAID 0 it) and one blu-ray writer. My question is, since the faulty port won't really affect and I really can't wait till April (been waiting to long and finally got the funds and really would like to buy it before wifey uses it) were can I buy the MoBo and CPU at? (I'm getting a ASUS Maximus IV extreme and Intel Core i7 2600k, but newegg has them unavailable) and when they do finally replace the MoBo, will I be able to exchange the MoBo (not that it matters, but if the will, I don't see why it would hurt to do that even though I will probable end up never using those ports.)

Thanks in advance :)

xinpig

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2011
what kind of graphics cards are you going to get? you possibly could save money by not getting such a high end mobo and/or get a 2500k, as Hyperthreading does nothing for games, and put that extra 100 towards something else.

vvhocare5

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2008
Most of the these people crying about this issue are chicken littles.

It is the SATA 3 ports that are the issue, not all chipsets are affected either and may show up over time. Yes the mb manufacturer will replace it for you down the road - Intel is paying them.