Choosing SSD's - Quick Question.

anwix

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2012
Hi, I wouldn't consider myself a technical expert but I'm not a novice either :p

Anyway, I'm building a PC, but SSD's are fairly new, I don't really know much about them.

My question is: Will any SSD work with any motherboard? If not what do I have to look out for- what do I have to look at before choosing an SSD for a motherboard

The motherboard I'll be using for my build is the GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3

anwix

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2012
Thanks very much mate, I'm only going to be using an SSD to install Windows on and for software I use on a day to day basis- so like office 2010 etc.

Thats why I don't really want a big SSD- particularly because my budget is going to be limited for the SSD- just about £40 which is about $65 in the US

Is there anything in that price range that you know will work with my motherboard but is also a decent SSD?

Thanks so much pal.

I think something like a Crucial M4 64GB SSD would do well for your needs. Personally, I would opt to go with something a little bit bigger like a 120GB, but my 60GB SSD served me well for about a year :)

When I used my 60GB SSD, after installing Windows and configuring Paging Files to my HDD, I had about 35GB free which left me plenty of room for the programs I used most often (one of them being Office 2010).

**Crucial M4 64GB is around $75 at the moment..a little over-budget but it's the cheapest and most reliable SSD I can think of at the moment.**

anwix

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2012
Will this Samsung 64GB 830 SSD SATA work with this motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 and is it a good choice?

Yes the Samsung SSD you have listed is very good. A few friends of mine use them and they're all very pleased with their performance.

As for Motherboard and SSD compatibility, you shouldn't worry :) anything will work with it.

anwix

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2012