agirdzius

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2010
Hi.

First want to say it's great to be here, and it's my first post on Tom's hardware. Secondly, I'm Lithuanian, so don't be very mad if i'll do some grammar errors. :)

Now my problem:
I have my computer for 6-5 years now. 1.5 years ago, my motherboard, my graphics card, power supply was burned. (The technician told they were too old.) So he changed those parts that burned, but left my Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHZ processor. Now, one day I though: maybe my processor is getting too old too? So I checked the CPU's temperatures with Speed Fan:

fiksavimas.png

The idle temperature while being in BIOS is 69 degrees Celsius!
So I need to change my CPU! SERIOUSLY! I'm have a budget of 70$ The best opinion I found was Intel Pentium Dual Core E6500 2.93 GHZ. But because I'm kinda new to this stuff, I want you to ask is my PC compatible with it. Also, is my integrated graphics card is integrated on my CPU or Motherboard? :D Sorry, for asking lame questions! I just don't know! :D Anyway, maybe you have other better recommendations? Is my Power supply compatible with Dual Core E6500?

Here are my computer details: (Sisofware Sandra)
bepavadinimob.png

Welcome to the forums. :)
Your English is fine.

On Asus's website, the P5N73-AM does support the E6500, however you might need to do a BIOS flash before your motherboard will support it. How you should flash your motherboard should be in the motherboard manual.

The integrated graphics is on your motherboard, it's only integrated on the CPU with newer CPUs like the Core i3 and Core i5 600 series.

rohn_avni

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2010

i think u did not see the whole cpu support list... at the bottom there is E6500 2.93, so agirdzius ur mobo supports it fully. no need to flash or upgrade bios..
here u can check ur self... http://in.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=WC4H82eOmIEKdVAs&templete=2

and integrated graphics are integrated on the motherboard... not on cpu.

NVIDIA GeForce 7050 / nForce 610i