Sign in with
Your question
Solved

BSOD if I change any CPU settings

Last response: in Systems
May 23, 2010 7:36:10 PM

Hi,
Having some BSOD problems. This is my first build, so be gentle haha.
What I'm working with:

amd 955BE
asus m4a785t-m/csm
msi gts 250 1gb
modxstream 500w
liteon dvd-rw
front card reader
640gb WD green
intel PCIe NIC
azza 910 case
scythe mugen 2
OCZ black edition 4gb

I've heard of issues with this board and getting the RAM to run at 1600. I seem to be able to get the computer to run decently well most of the time if I manually set the timings to 8-8-8-24. I usually just leave voltage set to auto and it works fine. If I try and set it to the recommended 1.65, I have to type in 1.53 and the BIOS changes it to 1.65, since if I put in 1.65 it changes to 1.77. At 8-8-8-24 and 1600 I am generally decently stable, and memtest shows no errors, both at the stock 1033 the mobo sets it to, and at 1600.

My video card is set at 790, 1915, 1250. It goes through benchmarking fine but lately sometimes after lightly using the computer for anywhere from 10 minutes to over an hour, it locks up and the screen has a pink diagnoal line ripply sort of pattern to it and I have to restart. I think the card might be set a bit high(?), but it was fine fine at those settings after 15 mins of Kombustor. When it freezes I'm usually just using the internet or watching a video, nothing too intensive. I don't think it's getting too hot either since the fans kick on and all that good stuff, and after running Kombustor for a while at those setting it never gets above about 69. Anyway I just changed this not too long ago, the main problem is w/ the CPU settings, which has been going on regardless of any other settings. If I have to just keep this at stock settings to get things to work, then that's fine.