Best gaming computer for a $700 or less budget

jomyron

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2010
Hi, i'm a college student, and I wanted to build a computer (or have one for me built) sometime around my birthday (in october), so i was wondering what would be the best processor (intel/amd) for gaming that could keep the overall computer under $700 preferably (or around $700) a nearby computer store recommended an i3 or i5 (if affordable) over an AMD phenom II x4 940 black edition at 3.0 GHz (costs 135.99)

I have a feeling that they may have an intel bias, so i figured the best place to come to get a variety of opinions would be here, where even if they are biases the sheer number of opinions should essentially make my decision easier.

Thank you all for your help in advance.

Solution
Well since you are going local, it's best to go with AMD since there price is straight up cheaper. Also, as mentioned before, the Asrock 870 Extreme3 is a great budget board.