Bios Setup Utility - USB Keyboard only will not function

Power95

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2011
I am new to upgrading and rebuilding of computers. I have an old Gateway that I am trying update. however, the one thing holding me back is this USB keyboard will not function during reboot or in bios setup. There is no PS/2 port to use, so that is out of the question. Any suggestions on what I should do about this problem? I've tried everything I know.

Is it a gaming keyboard by chance? With a USB connection on the keyboard itself?

If so, you have to 1- unhook that keyboard2 - take a keyboard without the USB port on it and hook it up 3 - disable USB legacy keyboard support in your BIOS (usually under 'integrated peripherals') 4 - hook up the keyboard you had the problem with then it should work.

Power95

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2011
It does have a USB port on it, actually two. I already tried another USB keyboard without additional ports, which did not work either. I figured it had something to do with legacy support but I can't do anything with the keyboards I've used 'cause they are not functioning. I have dealt with this issue for weeks. Very frustrating. Thanks for the feedback.

dokk2

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2007
Hmmm,, if it only has a USB connection then it should work by default, that is with the bios set to basics or default, in any event turn on everything in your bios that deals with the USB, some mobo's see USB KBDS only as a legacy device..:)

Power95

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2011
How do I do that without a keyboard? The computer is initially loading to the bios setup utility, so I can't do anything unless the keyboard functions.