Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Network setup (noobish)

Last response: in Networking
March 1, 2010 7:24:01 PM

I'm trying to setup our network so that I can forward some ports. I know how to forward the ports through the router but I'm new to the static ip option and am not sure exactly what it requires me to do to the multiple devices that are accessing our network.

There are roughly 4 people using our internet through wireless and ethernet (at least 4 laptops, 2 xbox 360s, a desktop, and another desktop I'm trying to turn into a file server[haven't quite figured out how to access it outside the local network :(  ]). There's only 3 main operating systems: ubuntu, win7, and windows server 2008.

I've tried looking at some tutorials online but I don't seem to understand what exactly I need to do. I have a linksys WRT54G router. Do I just need to manually assign every computer/xbox an ip at random or do I need to use certain ones? Also, what exactly is the static dns? I have Comcast cable internet, do I need the host or domain name fields to contain for anything?

I'm sorry if these are really noobish questions but I could really use some answers. All the help is greatly appreciated!

More about : network setup noobish

Best solution

March 2, 2010 2:17:52 AM

DNS is a domain name system that is used in the internet to translate names of network nodes into addresses. You should see that you need a primary and a secondary dns which should be both obtained by just calling your isp or inside the router on one of the screens that shows you that you are connected and ip info and such.

Now if you set the router to dhcp it will automatically assign computers there ip info but as you mentioned you want to set up with static ips for each computer so you need a couple bits of info.