Computer freezes and hums after a few minutes

SurferGurl

Distinguished
May 24, 2010
Hi, all!
I bet someone here can solve my problem easily!
This is my first build. I built it 2 years ago this month. Went together easily. I love the mobo, because it didn't POST the first time, but it told me that something was loose, I fixed it, and was off and running.
Was so stoked, as it is by far the best machine I've had since my $2000 486dx-33! That was a blazer back in the day!
Anyway, about a week after I built it, I had to run to Southern California to care for a sick Uncle; didn't bring 'Blue Blazer' - yea, that's her name - because I thought I'd only be gone a couple weeks. Well, he wasn't just sick, turned out he had cancer, so I stayed down south. Last year, I moved my husband down here, and moved home with him after my Uncle passed.
Got Blue Blazer up and running with no problems, until recently, when it began freezing up. Display freezes, mouse freezes CTL-ALT-DEL does nothing.
Also, I can't get my Linksys router to work, so I can't get this laptop and Blue Blazer online at the same time, but that's a subject for another thread, I just want my baby back!
Any suggestions, oh wise ones?
Thanks

SurferGurl

Distinguished
May 24, 2010
D'oh, here are my specs: :whistle:

Intel Quad Core Kentsfield 2.4Ghz Q6600 CPU

ASUS V-70 92mm Sleeve CPU cooler

EVGA nForce 750i SLI Socket 775 Mobo

650W Hiper PS

2 x 1G Crucial RAM

EVGA e-GeGorce 8600GTS SSC 356MB

SoundBlaster Audigy

2 x Seagate Barracuda 750GB HD

Sony DVR

Hauggague Tuner - I don't use it, because I don't have antenna for it

XP MCE 2005 with all SPs and automatic updates

SHANEMARINES

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2010
It might just need the CMOS cleared. Take off any jumpers around the Battery and take out the battery and un-plug the PSU. Then hold down the power button for 30-seconds and put it all back together and the CMOS should be cleared.