Sign in with
Your question

Corsair extreme iv cpu red light no connection

Last response: in Motherboards
February 13, 2011 10:40:08 PM

hello im having issues with my computer, yay! so a little info, first time build, got everyhing working and was working for a month and then i go out of town for 4 weeks i come back try to load up and when i do it powers up fans spinning lights gagdets at full, BUT no connection to the mouse monitor or keyboard, and when i look inside i see a red CPU light. at this point im a little confused since everything was working when i left, i also did power it down before i left so i dont know how it could be an over heated cpu i have no idea, im a noob and i love it. im very very mad right now so obviously im probably not providing the right information. please let me know what i need to do/tell you to figure this stuff out thanks alot
a c 207 Ĉ ASUS
a b à CPUs
a c 715 V Motherboard
February 13, 2011 11:41:55 PM

Welcome to Tom's Forum! :) 

I assume it's not protected by UPS and if you had a storm while you were away an outage, spike and/or surge could have damaged the PSU. Next time, unplug.

If you have another PSU that you can borrow from another PC try it.

Failure, minimize the connections and componets: 1 stick of RAM, no keyboard/mouse, unplug all SATA connections, unscrew MOBO and PCIe then dangle the MOBO from the case while not touching anything conductive supported by a towel -- try the power button to see if it posts.
February 14, 2011 6:12:30 PM

i dont have another cpu but i will try the bottom part
Related resources
a c 207 Ĉ ASUS
a b à CPUs
a c 715 V Motherboard
February 14, 2011 6:33:35 PM

PSU - Power Supply Unit.
February 14, 2011 7:18:49 PM

so i tried what you said but i must have done something wrong here, i turn on my power supply a few lights show up but when i hit power it doesnt boot up, no fans nothing
February 14, 2011 7:19:18 PM

oh yea i meant to put psu sorry
a c 207 Ĉ ASUS
a b à CPUs
a c 715 V Motherboard