Sign in with
Your question

High temps on 930?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
July 30, 2010 9:58:22 PM

I bought a Core i7 930, and overclocked it to 3.6ghz. The temps I'm getting at idle are 52c,50c,48c,48c. At 100% load, I get 83c,82c,78c,77c. As the cooler I have a CoolerMaster v8, and I'm 100% sure it's seated properly, as I've done the process multiple times.

These temps seem high to me, after reading around and seeing that people idle at around 40c and load at 66c when at 3.6ghz. It's kind of a big difference, especially when under full load.

My room temperature is about 32c, so I'm wondering if that has that kind of impact on the temps?

Vcore is at 1.225, with a 21x multiplier and a 172 bclk. My case is a Thermaltake Element V, with no cables blocking airflow (cleaned it up and dropped 10c already).

More about : high temps 930

a b à CPUs
July 30, 2010 10:41:08 PM

What kind of thermal grease did you have to install the V8. (i guess this begs the question... DID YOU USE THERMAL GREASE)???

You're playing in a 90degree farenheit room!??!?! How are you even able to concentrate on your gaming in taht room? lol that's a HUGE contributing factor to why you're running so hot!

You better set your processor back to stock clocks in a 90degree room... or else buy a $100 window A/C at walmart.
a b à CPUs
July 30, 2010 10:45:41 PM

I saw a test and equation before directly related to this. I dont recall which website it was on... but I recall exactly the results.

From a baseline benchmark in a 70degree farenheit room... they found every 1degree increase in farenhet of room temp cause the CPU temps to go up about .5 to .6 degrees Celcius

So essentially you're playing in a room 20 degrees farenheit warmer than base of 70degrees - so so you're CPU will run about 10 to 12 degree Celcius higher. Which is exactly what you're seeing
Related resources
a b à CPUs
July 30, 2010 10:54:58 PM