Sign in with
Your question

My first self-built PC: Opinions to specs

Last response: in Systems
May 28, 2010 7:40:32 AM

I'm about to find components for my first self-built PC. Since I'm not an expert on these things, I thought I could find tips and help here. I'm not going to use my PC for gaming (at least not extreme gaming) -- I just want a very stable system where I can run programs flawless. I don't want things to get overheated, but I still want a silent system. Right now I have a MacMini, which is NOT good enough for me.

My budget is max 800$. This is what I have found. Please give me some feddback and opinions:

Motherboard: Don't know. I just know that I want good audio (because I don't want to spend money on a audio card in addition) and the basics.
RAM: 2x 2GB, will probably add more later
Graphics: Don't know. I have two monitors, maybe three, that I would like to connect to my PC, but I won't (as you already know) use the computer for extreme gaming. 1GB something?
HDD: 2x Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB SATA2
CPU: Intel Core™ i5 Quad Processor i5-750 or AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
PSU: Corsair HX 650W PSU
DVD-RW: Sony NEC Optiarc DVD±RW burner AD-7240S

Thank you!

More about : built opinions specs

May 28, 2010 9:08:39 AM

Ok then with that budget we will go for an AMD system.

Best case in it's price range in my opinion. Comes with 3 x 120mm and 1 x 140mm fans installed. All are 3 speed and on low are nearly silent.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Your budget will not include a graphics card needing that much power. This is plenty even if you decide to upgrade later.

Great RAM for the money.

Motherboard with SATA 3.0 and USB 3.0 for futureproofing. As well as a good overall board.

CPU

Now do you have those 2 hard drives already? If not go with 1 of these. It is one of the fastest 7200RPM drives on the market.

For graphics a HD 5770 is a great choice. With rebate this is a great deal.