Solved

Sound Card+Headphones $200 Budget

Tags:
  • Sound Cards
  • Headphones
  • Components
Last response: in Components
July 31, 2010 3:52:01 AM

I am looking for a sound card and headphones for my PC with a budget of about $200. I also plan on adding a 5.1 surround speaker system later, with about a $100-150 budget on that. I have been looking at the ATH-AD700's or HD555's for headphones, and the OMEGA STRIKER 7.1 as a sound card.
I am looking for a nice pair of headphones for gaming, listening to music on, and the occasional movie.
The sound card would ideally be able to deliver quality audio to both the headphones (I have heard of the ability to emulate 5.1 sound in headphones on a sound card, and have also heard of various benefits from Creative such as X-RAM and EAX, and wondered if either of these is valuable or applicable) and also to a set of 5.1 speakers.

I have also heard that Creative's drivers are horrible. I'm no computer novice, but I don't want to have to mess with it much after setup.

Your advice and recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

More about : sound card headphones 200 budget

July 31, 2010 5:34:17 AM

Your initial choices are good.. I'd get the AD700's as the HD555 sound a tad misplaced when it comes to gaming..
m
l
July 31, 2010 2:00:43 PM

Thanks! What do you think of my choice in sound card? Is there any reason to go creative?
m
l
Related resources
July 31, 2010 2:55:26 PM

No compelling reasons to go creative other than X-RAM and EAX support.. X-RAM is not available on all creative sound cards though and EAX is hardly an attractive feature nowadays.. You can look into the Asus Xonar DX or Auzentec Explosion also.. Though i still feel your current choices are plenty good..
m
l
July 31, 2010 3:19:39 PM

Emperus is right, the AD700s and the Striker will be a good combo.
m
l
July 31, 2010 4:08:23 PM

I won't comment on headphones but the best sound card value is the Auzentech Bravura for your budget.