Need help with AM3 Build

mrgetbad

Distinguished
May 29, 2010
Hi! I'm a noob! I hardly go on forums (forum virgin) because usually I use google to solve my problems but now I think its time to ask for help so here I go..

I managed to snag an AMD AM3 1055T processor and an MSI 890GXM-G65 motherboard for $250 the other day :D . It was perfect because I've always thought about going small. My rig is mostly composed of recycled parts from my 4 year old desktop which I haven't touched in two years lol.

My specs are:

AMD AM3 1055T
MSI 890GXM-G65
OCZ Gold Series PC3 8500 2GB (Free loaded but turned out to be broken BSOD) **Replacing with 4GB DDR3-1600 of G.Skill Rip Jaws because it is being recommended for some reason**
Seagate Barracuda 2 320GB Sata II
2 X1950pro in Crossfire
OCZ ModXstream 700W
SilverStone Sugo SG04

The RAM I got for free was actually 4GB dual channel but I was told one stick might be broken so I thought ok I'll just use one stick for now. I found which stick gives the memory errors right away so I put that a side and I thought my system was fine. I was then using the good stick ( or so I thought ) and managed to install Windows 7 64bit. I was then able to install a few programs then out of no where I get a BSOD, which is the same error as the other stick. So now I think both sticks are broken. I also tried setting the timings and voltage manually at the recommended settings but no luck. Whatever though they were free.. However, would I have to re install Windows 7 again? The PC went BSOD when I was installing avast and I was wondering if BSODing would corrupt something in the registry.