Sign in with
Your question

SPARKS!?!?! - ASRock Extreme 3

Last response: in Motherboards
February 19, 2011 6:53:03 AM

Well $870 worth of Newegg goodness came in the mail today. This is my first build and I was hoping all would go well. Current parts include:
ASRock Extreme3 870 (probably toast now...)
G.Skill Ripsaw 2 x 2gb
AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition
Samsung F3 1 TB HDD
OCZ 64 Gb SDD
XFX 650W PSU
XFX 6870 Black Edition GPU
Rosewill Challenger Case

I got everything all set up and turned it on, fingers crossed. To my dismay there were no beeps or anything and it booted right into BIOS. I was happily dancing around my room until I heard a small crackle (spark?). I immediately shut everything off and unplugged, checking for any place of possible damage. Was it my imagination? I couldn't find anything and who knows maybe I'm just going crazy. So I plug it back in and hit the power switch and there it is. As it powers on, a spark flies out from about a quarter inch up and left of the PWRBTN (powerbutton?) on the bottom right corner of the mobo. I immediately power off and start searching the internet for any info I can find. There is a noticeable spot where the spark came from. I double checked everything I plugged in and cannot find the issue for the life of me. I pulled the mobo out and checked for any grounding issues in the mounting but everything seemed fine as well. It is probably dead, but I'm hoping I didn't ruin anything else. If anyone has any ideas or input I would love to hear it. This being my first build it is very discouraging. Its now closing in on 4am here in NY so I guess I should head to bed.
Thanks for any help or ideas you may have.

eta: 650W PSU, not 550W

More about : sparks asrock extreme

February 19, 2011 8:47:09 AM