Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Seeking help with HDD/SSD transfer to new build

Tags:
Last response: in Storage
July 18, 2012 4:42:57 PM

Hello,

I am still pretty new to most of this computer tech stuff, but I'm learning as I go. I recently purchased a Gateway PC and paid a little extra to have some of the components upgraded such as higher RAM speeds and a better video card. After the purchase I began looking into some of the custom built systems and I have decided to expand my knowledge and build my own. I have just puchased the HAF X chassis, a i7 3770K, and the Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe motherboard along with an OEM copy of Windows 7 and some thermal paste for the CPU. Other than that I would like to use the rest of the components from the Gateway that I have, including the 2TB SATA HDD. I have multiple questions about this process below.

1. Is there a way to transfer the HDD to the new system and install the OEM Windows 7 while maintaining all my data on the drive?

2. If a clean install is required and I must format the drive, then what is a good method of backup when there is roughly 1TB of data. Can it be compressed and stored, until I can tranfer the files to the new system?

3. Will I have to remove my current copy of Windows 7 from the drive after the install or will there be two copies of Windows 7(one active and one inactive) on the drive?

In a month or so I also plan to add an SSD and install Windows 7 to the drive so that the system will boot faster and I was wondering what the process would entail and if the OEM version of Windows 7 would allow for a re-install on the SSD or if I would have to re-install it in the first place?

I know that's a lot of questions and I'm completely new to all of this. I would greatly appreciate any advice you can give. Thank you all for your time.

-Randall

a c 353 G Storage
July 18, 2012 6:35:57 PM

A lot depends on how the Gateway HDD is configures.