Sign in with
Your question

[solved] moved to Systems>New build

Last response: in Storage
July 18, 2012 8:39:55 PM

So im completely new to building computers, and all of the technical terms/aspects of it. I've managed to find different components for my build sofar by looking at sites and seeing what other people have put into their rigs that have the same cpu and mobo. Im now looking for internal hard drives and have no clue where to start. Can somebody help?

What hard drive's are compatible with the rig I plan on building?

Sofar my rig includes:
DX79SI mobo
Intel core i7-3930K CPU
Intel BXRTS2011LC Liquid-cooled Thermal Solution For LGA2011 Socket
Ripjaws Z series 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600
1x NVIDIA Geforce GTX 580 GPU (adding a 2nd at a later date)
CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX750 (CMPSU-750AX) 750W ATX12V 80 PLUS GOLD
Crucial M4 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC SSD (adding a 2nd at a later date)
Western Digital Caviar WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD (adding 1-2 more at a later date)
COOLER MASTER Storm Sniper mid tower case
a b G Storage
July 18, 2012 9:07:28 PM

Well everything so far is compatible, and the good news is hard drive compatibility is broad. Any SATA hard drive will work, just find a good capacity for your needs at a good price.

Do you really need a 6-core processor? That Motherboard and CPU are pretty pricey. If this rig is for gaming you can save a lot of money by going with an 1155 socket i5; the 2011 CPUs are really useful for certain professional tasks that need lots of cores, like video rendering. Tell us what you want to do and we can give you suggestions.
m
l
July 18, 2012 9:09:56 PM

Yeah that's all compatible, although you don't need that power supply. That's way overkill unless you plan on getting two more 580s. And pretty much any 3.5" SATA HDD will work with your build, I would get SATA III since your board can take advantage of it. Here's a good one...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...