Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Building Animation Computer

Last response: in Systems
May 31, 2010 11:45:13 AM

Hi, Im building a Computer for Animation. Im looking for Suggestions. My Budget is around $1100 -$1200 just for the tower itself. For Computer experience id say above average for sure. but im no a expert. And I prefer not to Overclock any parts.

The Set-Up for my current System is(nothing is Overclocked):

Intel Pentium 4 3.00Ghz Hyper Threaded
Asus P5QL PRO Motherboard
2 GB RAM
Sapphire Ati Radeon HD 4350 512MB Graphics Card
160GB Hard Drive

Clearly its not very good. :na: 

So far ive been looking around and i think ill be getting:

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor
ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

For RAM im debating how much i should get 4 - 8 GB, id like 8 but im trying to keep costs low as possible.
and for graphics card i was thinking Ati Radeon HD 5770,5830 or 5850

Thanks for you help.

P.S. if it helps the software ill mainly be using is Blender, PhotoShop and GIMP and ill be running Windows 7 on my new Computer.
May 31, 2010 12:19:40 PM

^ Any gaming on the PC and if Yes, then what type of games ?
May 31, 2010 12:26:41 PM

gkay09 said:
^ Any gaming on the PC and if Yes, then what type of games ?

No i wont be playing any games, Just some graphic Designing and mainly Animation.
Related resources
May 31, 2010 12:31:48 PM

Hmm...
You might want to get Nvidia cards - not necessarily the new GTX 4xx series as Photoshop and other graphic design apps take advantage of CUDA...
So you might want to check out in detail about the graphic cards...Especially check the OpenGL versions...

And if you wont be overclocking, then better to get the 1090T...It is stock clocked at 3.2GHz and has an unlocked multiplier...So if by any chance you would want to try your hand at overclocking, then it is pretty easy with this CPU...