Seeking Advice on ~$600 Gaming PC Build

fahdzilla

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2010
Hi, I'm new to PC building and newer still to this site. After a few weeks spent doing a little research and wasting a ton of time, I've decided to turn for help to my fellow, hopefully more experienced, geeks and nerds on tomshardware.com. To reiterate, I'm trying to build a gaming PC for about $600 after rebates. Any advice is most appreciated. Thanks in advance.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: over the course of June BUDGET RANGE: about $600 after rebates

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: gaming and watching movies

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS, optical drive and card reader

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: newegg.com, tigerdirect.com, etc COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: California, US

PARTS PREFERENCES: AMD CPU and a mid-sized tower

OVERCLOCKING: yes, eventually SLI OR CROSSFIRE: yes, eventually

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050, 1920x1080 or 1920x1200

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS: The PC needs no windows or bling, and I would like it to be as unobtrusively quiet as possible for watching movies, though not at the expense of power for gaming--given my budget, of course.

Solution
Well the PSU included here will be a mainstay for many an upgrade cycle me thinks thanks to the power of combos ^^ $567 AR including ship
Untitled-101.jpg

fahdzilla

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2010
I devised a similar build to yours’ myself. I guess the selection is somewhat limited in this price range. :D I’m reading reviews of those parts you two suggested that I’m not already familiar with and comparing them to the ones I found.

Since my last post, I impulsively bought a PSU and a hard drive: a Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W for $59.99 and a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1 TB - OEM for $49.95 after all offers.