Secondary Ide slave not detected

nadji99

Honorable
Jul 21, 2012
I had 2 computers on one of them the motor broke so instead of buying a new one I decided to combine the hard drives in one computer. I installed the second hard drive and notice that some files were missing. I went into the BIOS setup and this is what it said:

Primary IDE Master: (WDC WD400BB 22JHCO)
Primary IDE Slave: (STE380012A)
Secondary IDE Master: (HL-DT-GCE-8526B)
Secondary IDE Slave: (not detected)

what does this mean I am a newbie so please go slow and plain english :)

Solution
Since this is an older computer with IDE ports, just how old is it? I'm wondering if you might have a problem with drive size. This can be a problem with IDE ports from around year 2000 and earlier.

First, what size is this old HDD you are trying to install? On older mobos that lack a feature called "48-bit LBA Support" you can NOT use any HDD over 128 GB (the way Windows counts) or 137 GB (the way drive makers label them). If your old HDD is smaller than this limit, you are OK no matter what. In that case, ignore the rest of this and skip down to my points about IDE jumpers and cables. But if it is larger, you MUST have the feature before trying to use the drive in the machine. If you don't you could destroy data on it.

How do you...

canadian69

Distinguished
May 1, 2010
A motherboard will have an IDE controller with two channels (primary/secondary) each channel supports a maximum of 2 PATA (IDE) drives. Each drive has jumper settings that determine if the drive is the master or slave for each channel. If you jumper settings are wrong drives may not be detected in the system BIOS.

Your listing above shows me your 40GB Western digital, what looks like an 80GB Seagate and your CD/DVD. If there is supposed to be a forth drive, it is not showing.