GTX 480 SLI + PPU?

DaviSiete7

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2010
Hi, this is my first time posting here, I decided to join as I'm a long time reader of tom's and I'm tired of scouting forums for similar questions that I'm asking myself.

I'm in the works of building myself a new gaming pc, I do like nVidia's 3D Vision, the realism of PhysX and I'm drooling over the thought of those features shown on 3 screens.

So I was looking at this setup: 2 GTX 480s in SLI and a PhysX-Dedicated card.
My first question: what PPU should I choose to prevent bottlenecking as I've seen in some reviews of this setup? would a GTX 260 be fine or should I Upgrade to a GTX 285? Money isn't a problem really, I just want the best rig possible for gaming.

However, I heard that there are problems running 3 screens on the SLI setup... Is this true?

I will be pairing these cards with a Intel i7-980X, ASUS Rampage III Extreme and an Antec TruePower Quattro 1200W.
(Everything WILL be watercooled as I know these cards get really hot especially when they're all cramped up like this)

If this question has already been asked and answered , I'm sorry. I've looked for it but haven't found anything so jusst link it.

Thanks.

DaviSiete7

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2010

I have thought about that setup but i like the 3D Vision nVidia offers as im a fan of eye-candy and the GTX 480 seems to scale better with AA and tesseellation which more and more games will offer over time (talking about tessellation) when developpers will start to implement DX11. A good example of this is the Heaven Benchmark, im aware its sponsered by nVidia, the GTX 480 fares way better than the 5870 and minimum FPS is better than both the 5870 and the 5970.

I'm not a fanboy i currently own a i7-920 with a 5870 but im selling it to my friend who doesnt really know anything about computers but likes to game, so im currently trying to put together a new build, just looking for opinions.