Processor Query

dergasmash

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2010
Hey everyone. I've been reading and lurking on this forum for a while. I am still pretty new to the DIY PC. My brother who is an electrical engineer has gotten me into it. Well him, and a terrible outcome with an HP I bought just over a year ago. I bought an HP Pavillion Elite M9400F and the hard drive tanked about 10 weeks after the warranty expired. It has a Phenom X4 9750 with Radeon HD 3650 graphics. Nothing special, but worked great for what I did use it for when it was running.

I am planning to build a new system within the next few months, so I have been looking around, doing some research, and it is my understanding that when building a system the processor is the first thing you must decide on. That is my issue, as I am stuck between 2 CPUs.

Do I go i7 920 or Phenom II x4 965?

I am looking to build a system that won't require massive upgrading for at least 2 or 3 years, though if possible I would prefer even longer. I am on a budget though it isn't specific. I just like saving money, and lower cost would get approval from my wife. That an I am an active duty enlisted soldier, so I am not a rich man.

The requirements aren't iron clad, but they aren't vague either. This system will be used for gaming, movie/photo editing, and ripping. I am replacing the blown up hard drive on my old system and will be using that for a more general web surfing/movies type family pc. I decided this after finding out that the processor doesn't support DDR3 and that the platform in general is not really all that upgrade friendly. Maybe I am wrong. That is why I am appealing to you all.

Do I got i7 or Phenom II?

Thank you all in advance.

George