From 1 to 5 public IPs, what do I do now?

judaster

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2010
Hello everybody and thanks for reading my post !

First let me say that I'm a total networking noob :-(

We've just changed to a new ISP to get a 2mbps/2mbps shdsl IP access. They have provided us with 5 public IPs, and I don't know what to do with them and how to manage them.

In our new facilities, we've been working for a few weeks using a cheap ADSL connection (we still have it but this will be replaced by the new SHDSL), the router had one public IP and all the LAN (workgroup) computers where connected to the Internetm (all auto).

Right now we have 15 workstations, but in a couple of weeks 15 more will come. We've already bought one server and the Small Business Server 2008 OS.

This is the hardware we have now:

Cisco 800 series router (we can't manage it, the ISP will do it, all the ports are open)
Cisco 3560G (24ports) switch
Dlink (don't know the model, but it's an old and cheap one) 24 ports switch

I have too many questions but the main thing is: What router settings do my ISP have to set in the router?. I guess I'll have to use NAT to privide Internet connection to the workstations using one of the public IPs?. I'll need these extra IPs for VPN and the Exchange Server right?. Do I have to purchase a firewall to protect the LAN and the NAT conversion?

As you can read I'm lost

Thanks

Jud

I'm curious, is that 2mbps per public IP, or 2mbps shared across ALL public IPs?