Buying a new SSD help.

wasabi91

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2010
I decided to go ahead and purchase a Crucial m4 128GB SSD. I heard there were some steps to get it going efficiently some of which im not very familiar with. Im relatively new to the SSD game so i could use some help with some of steps.

1. I read you might need to update firmware.
2. Launching in AHCI.
3. Making sure TRIM is enabled. Which i know Windows 7 has it but how do i know if its enabled after OS install?
4. If i transfer over my WoW data will my addons already be with it or will i have to drag curse over as well and reinstall them to wow?
5. Is there a good thread of webpage for optimizing space on a SSD for un useful windows OS stuff?

raytseng

Honorable
May 15, 2012
1) if you buy a new m4, and it's not a dusty unit that's been sitting on the shelf, chances are it will already have new firmware, if not you can run crucial's firmware utility on it and you will be set.

2) you do not need to worry yourself with all the supposed SSD "tweaks".
If you are using windows 7, it will automatically disable and set things properly.
If you do extra investigation into all those supposed tweaks to optimize for SSD, you will find out from people who scientifically benchmarked and tested it or checked with Microsofties that they are myths or have no real practical effect or Windows already took care of it for you (even if it's enabled, it's really disabled). There are some stickies at the top of this forum if you really are interested to make you feel warm and fuzzy.

3) WoW I dunno, maybe you need to ask on WoW forums how to move your settings over to a new install.