Zav

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2011
I'm new to using an SSD and recently bought one for 90(60 after MIR): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA0SF0BB7264
I installed windows on it and did all the updates and have like 18 gigs left (started from 55.7). Except for the noticeable change in windows start up, I'm wondering is it really worth beyond that.. Before an SSD, I used to put my computer on sleep. So my question here is, should I keep the SSD(please give reasons why) or can I just go back to using my HDD and putting the computer on sleep? Also if putting a computer on sleep is bad, could you tell me how.

Solution
a lot of those tweaks do nothing since windows7 already takes care of it(i'm looking at you superfetch/prefetch). there are articles pointing them out as myths with microsoft engineers as references.
Not saying all are bad, there are some good tweaks, but most are myths, and others go against the benefits of the SSD because people are afraid of "using it up".

e.g. I should want my browser caches to be stored on SSD, cause that's actually stuff that I want sped up, not slow. The tweak to move that is misguided.

That being said. if Space is your issue, then first find that space, since that seems to be your main issue.

To regain space, most likely you need to specifically get rid of:
1) hibernate file for hibernate or hybrid...

raytseng

Honorable
May 15, 2012
a lot of those tweaks do nothing since windows7 already takes care of it(i'm looking at you superfetch/prefetch). there are articles pointing them out as myths with microsoft engineers as references.
Not saying all are bad, there are some good tweaks, but most are myths, and others go against the benefits of the SSD because people are afraid of "using it up".

e.g. I should want my browser caches to be stored on SSD, cause that's actually stuff that I want sped up, not slow. The tweak to move that is misguided.