Sign in with
Your question

New computer rig problems

Last response: in Components
August 6, 2010 9:06:23 AM

Hello, i created a new rig and of course it my first time building my rig, i have a cooler master scout tower ,
ASUS M4A78 PLUS Motherboard ,
amd phenom II x4 950 black edition 3ghz,
3 corsair ddr2 ram,
EVGA nVidia GeForce 9600 GSO PCI-Express ,
and OCZ Stealth X Stream 600 watt Power Supply ,

when i turn on the power when everything its connected right the
cd drive makes noise and green light keeps on flashing every second. also nothing pops up on the lcd screen and when i connect my cd drive and my hard drive to my old computer its starts normaly without no problem and cd drive dont make noise???? also im using my 500gb hard drive from my previous comp and it has windows vista. do i need more psu power? any help will be greatly apreciated.

More about : computer rig problems

August 6, 2010 9:23:43 AM

"also im using my 500gb hard drive from my previous comp and it has windows vista"

Did you just connect an HDD from a different platform to a new one? You said this is your first rig, but you also said that you have an old PC. That's confusing...

Anyway, you can't just put an HDD to a new setup like swapping memory cards. It has to be configured to the new environment. Meaning: re-installation.

My best guess is the HDD hasn't been installed with the new rig. Confusing the system which leads to the symptoms you're describing.

Try to format the HDD and install a fresh OS IN the new setup.

Hope this helps!
m
l
August 6, 2010 9:34:08 AM

HA SORRY 4 NOT DESCRIBING IT GOOD.... I GOT A 2007 ACER T180 DESKTOP(OLD PC) I UPGRADED THIS PC WITH 500GB AND 3 GB OF RAM.